Calm down dear, it’s only commercial.

I recently suffered a hard drive failure on a machine I’ve had for about two years. It was an IBM laptop running Windows XP with Office and a bunch of other applications that I really can’t remember now. I haven’t lost my memory, it’s just that I haven’t used the applications installed on the laptop for some time. The reason for that is I began migrate myself from the desktop to the web, or from private to public or from 1.0 to 2.0.

My documents, photos, music are now all stored in a cloud somewhere accessible anywhere, anytime.

So suffering a hard disk crash wasn’t the life crippling experience it used to be. In fact, a couple of set backs I can think of was thinking about what capacity drive to purchase and of course the lengthy delay of rebuilding the OS and subsequent security patches.

Let’s face it, I really only need a browser nowadays to communicate and collaborate and of course I have a few choices.

It did cross my mind to move away from a Microsoft environment on the laptop and look to Ubuntu or even attempt to install Apple’s OS X (Leopard) instead. In fact as I write this (on my Powerbook) I’ve decided to go for it and enter the twilight-zone… OS X via a Thinkpad!

Anyway, the point of my post. I guess I’m ‘hip‘ as they say. I can survive in a world of software as a service and even in a non Microsoft world.

I’ll let you know how I get on with this challenge.

Leave a Reply

